Lansdowne dominate Ulster Bank League club awards

18 May 2018 02:29

20 0

Lansdowne’s place at the summit of club rugby has continued into awards season.

The famous Dublin side hoovered up three accolades at the Ulster Bank League awards in Dublin last night: Mike Ruddock was named coach of the year following his side’s successes in claiming the Division 1A title and Bateman Cup; fly-half Scott Deasy finished as top scorer with 219 points while Harry Brennan made it a hat-trick for them with the Leinster player of the year award.

The Dublin club clinched the league title with a two-point defeat of Cork Constitution at the Aviva Stadium earlier this month, having finished top of the regular season table and accounting for Garryowen in the last four. It was their third title in just six seasons.

Neil Cronin was part of that Garryowen side and he has been compensated, earning a Munster contract for the 2018/19 season on the back of his brilliant campaign and being named as Munster club player of the year. Cronin also captained the club international team this term.

Cork Con’s excellent campaign was also recognised, with Alex McHenry named as the top tier’s rising player of the year, while UCC’s Paul Kiernan was named as 1B’s top talent in a year when they secured a place in 1A for the very first time.

Also read: Pompey goalkeeper Craig MacGillivray signs new deal


To category page